Skip Navigation

Bureau of the Public Debt Aids Savings Bonds Owners in Indiana, Iowa, and Wisconsin Affected by Severe Weather And Flooding


June 16, 2008

The Bureau of the Public Debt took action to assist victims of the effects of the recent severe weather and flooding in Indiana, Iowa and Wisconsin by expediting the replacement or payment of United States Savings Bonds for owners in affected counties in each state. The emergency procedures are effective immediately and will allow authorized agents to redeem Series EE and I savings bonds that are less than one year old which are presented for payment by their owners through the end of July 2008.

Public Debt's action waives the normal one-year holding period for Series EE and I savings bonds presented to authorized paying agents for redemption by residents of the affected areas. Most financial institutions serve as paying agents for savings bonds. The one-year holding period for electronic savings bonds held in TreasuryDirect accounts is also waived for owners in the affected counties.

The affected counties are: in Indiana - Adams, Bartholomew, Benton, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Clay, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, Elkhart, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Lagrange, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Miami, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Ohio, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Union, Wabash, Warrick, Wayne, White, Vermillion, and Vigo;

In Iowa - Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clarke, Clayton, Crawford, Clinton, Dallas, Delaware, Dubuque, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Howard, Humboldt, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Jefferson, Keokuk, Kossuth, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lucas, Marion, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Montgomery, Muscatine, Mahaska, Madison, Mills, Monroe, Page, Polk, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Scott, Story, Shelby, Tama, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Webster, Winneshiek, Worth, Wright, Washington, Wayne, and Winnebago; and

In Wisconsin - Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, Lafayette, LaCrosse, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, and Winnebago.

Public Debt will also expedite the replacement of paper bonds lost or destroyed. Bond owners should complete form PD F-1048, available at most financial institutions or by writing to Customer Service Department, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, Pittsburgh Branch, 717 Grant Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15219, phone (800) 245-2804, or Customer Service Department, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis, 90 Hennepin Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55401, phone (800) 553-2663. This form can also be downloaded from Public Debt's website, Bond owners should include as much information as possible about the lost bonds on the form. This information should include how the bonds were inscribed, Social Security number, approximate dates of issue, bond denominations and serial numbers, if available. A notary public or an officer of a financial institution must certify the completed form. Completed forms should be forwarded to Public Debt's Office of Investor Services, 200 Third Street, Parkersburg, WV 26106-1328. Bond owners should write the word "DISASTER" on the front of their envelopes to help expedite the processing of claims.